Official Website of Zilla Parishad, Wardha
     Home    |    About ZP    |    ZP Member    |    Administration    |    Departments    |    Panchayat Samiti    |    Contact Us
  District Profile
  Nagrikanchi Sanad
  Swachh Bharat Mission
  Photo Gallery
  Contact Us
जिल्हा परिषद व पंचायत समिती निवडणूक बाबत माहीती

Rural governance according to the 73 amendment the constitution is based on the Panchayati Raj system.  It is a three tier system with the Zilla Parishad at the district level, Blocks at the middle level and Gram Panchayats at the lowest level.

Zilla Parishad
Zilla Parishad is a local government at the district level.  It looks after the administration of the rural area of the district and its office located at the district headquarters.

Panchayat Samiti is a local government at Tahsil level.  It works for the villages of the tahsil or taluka that together and called as development Block.   The Panchayat Samiti is a link between the Gram Panchayat and Zilla Parishad.  There are 8 Panchayat Samiti namely Wardha, Seloo, Deoli, Arvi, Ashti, Karanja, Hinganghat and Samudrapur in Wardha.

Gram Panchayat
The Gram Panchayat is the foundation of the Panchayat system.  A Gram Panchayat can be set up in villages with a population of more than five hundred.  There is common Gram Panchayat for two or more villages if the population of these villages is less than five hundred. It is called Group OR Gat Gram Panchayat.  There are 517 Gram Panchayats in Wardha district.

Copyright © 2008 Zilla Parishad Wardha.
All rights reserved.